Distinguished Activity Awards

Each year, a selection of Distinguished Activities are chosen by our World Sleep Day Committee. Winners receive one complimentary registration to attend the next World Sleep Congress to receive a trophy at the Opening Ceremony. Honorable Mentions will be invited on stage to receive a certificate of achievement.


Congratulations to the 2019 Distinguished Activity Awardees

Portuguese Sleep Association | APS, ANSS, ESRS
Fernando Alberto Ceballos Fuentes, MD, MsC | Guatemalan Association of Sleep Medicine
Miguel Meira e Cruz | Portuguese Association of Chronobiology and Sleep Medicine; Sleep Unit of Cardiovascular Center, University of Lisbon, School of Medicine
Dr. Prerana Garg & Dr. Himanshu Garg | Sleep Cure Solutions
Montida Veeravigrom, MD | Sleep Society of Thailand
Dr N. Ramakrishnan | Nithra Institute of Sleep Sciences

2019 Honorable Mention

Lew Mun Yee | Am Life International
Rayleigh Ping Ying Chiang | International Sleep Science Technology Association
Elena Maricela Majano, MD | Bernes Medical Sleep and Neurological Private Center
Dr. Manvir Bhatia | Neurology Sleep Centre
György G. Németh | Hungarian Sleep Association
Ximena Alvarado | Hospital de Clínicas La Paz Bolivia
Dr. Laura Palagini | AIMS

  • Hungary
  • Guatemala
  • India
  • Thailand
  • Portugal


Congratulations to the 2018 Distinguished Activity Awardees

Dr. Nagarajan Ramakrishnan (India) | Nithra Instiute of Sleep Sciences
Dr. Montida Veeravigrom (Thailand) | Sleep Society of Thailand
Dr Himanshu Garg & Dr Prerana Chopra (India) | Aviss Health, Centre for Sleep Disorders
Dr. Elena Majano (El Salvador) | Bernes Medical Sleep and Neurological Center
Mr. Lew Mun Yee (Multicountry) | AM LIFE INTERNATIONAL
Paula Araujo (Brazil) | Brazilian Sleep Society

2018 Honorable Mention
Dr. Petar Chipev, Prof. Ivan Staykov (Bulgaria) | Bulgarian Society of Somnology
Dr. Reut Gruber, Debbie Will-Dryden (Canada) | Canadian Sleep Society & Sleeping Children Around the World
Matilde Valencia-Flores & Montserrat Reséndiz-García (Mexico) | Sleep Disorders Clinic, UNAM and INCMNSZ
Dr. Laura Palagini (Italy) | AIMS
David Lira (Peru) | Instituto Peruano de Neurociencias – IPN
Dr. Antonio Culebras (United States) | Upstate Sleep Center
Luca Roberti (Italy) | Associazione Apnoici Italiani Onlus
Melissa Lipford, MD (United States) | Westin Hotels & Resorts
Jitka Bušková (Czech Republic) | NIMH

Past Distinguished Activity Award recipients: